Shinsekai Yori Episode 2 Thoughts

Posted: October 14, 2012 by Xana in Shin Sekai Yori

I want to apologize.  For some reason I thought Shin Sekai Yori’s episodes came out on Tuesdays, not over the weekend so I apologize for my late posts.  I want to thank Rei for clarifying this for me.  Episode 2 of Shin Sekai Yori was another “World Building” episode.  We focused on the characters at school, and we get a little bit of a better understanding of what kind of world they live in.  Most of the episode focused on a competition.  The competition was to test how strong the character’s cursed power is but also loyalty to whatever force is in power.  The competition ends in a draw due to a member of the other team cheating.  He later disappears.  If I was in this world I would be extremely scared.  This world is really reminding me of 1984, Big Brother is watching you.  These kids need to be really careful.  One wrong move and they could disappear.

So does the power that is in control have slaves?  There are these rat-like creatures that children are not supposed to see.  Saki probably should not have saved them.  They seem like something that is forbidden, something that the power at force doesn’t want children to recognize.  I wouldn’t be surprised if these creatures show up a lot more.  They worship humans like Gods, which is something that is probably forbidden in this utopia/dystopia.  I wonder if saving these creatures are going to get them in trouble in the future.

Next week is the class trip.  I want the episode to explain a few things in the next episode.  I want to learn more about what this society they live in is really like.  There is something going on and I don’t like.  I expect the show to give away a big secret in episode 3.  I know this show is developing very slowly but I think it is going to be worth it.  I think the slow developing will eventually lead to something that is going to blow my mind.

Thanks for reading!

-Xana

Leave a Reply

