K Episode 1 Thoughts

Posted: October 8, 2012 by Xana in K
Tags: , ,

*This was originally posted by me here.
The first of the three anime I will be reviewing this season is Project K also know just as K.  Studio GoHands is behind the animation on this one, have you ever heard of them?  They are the studio behind the Mardock Scramble movie trilogy.  You can only describe Mardock as f*cked up so Studio Gohands had my attention as a studio.  K has had a lot of talk about it’s supposed visual excellence, but no one knows much about the story.  Lets hope its good.  I will give it 3 episodesand  if I hate it I am going to drop it.  Here is a really vague plot synopsis.

Ashinaka High School is known for its unique setting: the entire campus is built on an island. Yashiro Isana, aka Shiro, is having lunch with a cat on one of the school rooftops. After his lunch break, Shiro goes on an errand for his classmate Kukuri to prepare for their upcoming school festival, only to be chased by some intimidating-looking men. (Wikipedia)

So I actually am unable to talk too much about this episode.  I have no idea what is going on. There are so many characters; I just know I am going to get confused fast.  Something about the setting reminds me of Durarara.  Maybe because there are so many characters who have some unnatural powers.  That is a dumb comparison.  I feel a little let down when it comes to the animation.  For some reason I expected it to be ground breaking.  Don’t get me wrong, the animation is still great but it isn’t ground breaking.  We weren’t given enough time to really get to know any of our characters.  Shiro seems like he will make for a fine protagonist but I know very little about him.  The characters for the most part were male and all very cool looking but I don’t really know what they are.  Some have specials powers and some use swords; I am so observant.

I hope K will be good but it is much too early to tell.  The first episode was enjoyable but if every episode is like it the show will get boring fast.  Sorry for the insufficient crappy review.  Hopefully next time I will have more to talk about.

Thanks for reading.

-Xana

Leave a Reply

