What?! A review from Lykos?? This is craziness! Haha, I’m pretty sure that’s what you all must be thinking, and for good reason!

Very first impression of Arcana Famiglia: pleasantly surprised. I was extremely worried that it was going to be one of those reverse harems that I love so much (sarcasm), but the animation was stellar, and I’m kinda liking all these male characters. Though I do worry about a main cast that is so big, but if the writers can actually tastefully develop all the characters and the relationships between them then we could have a decent fantasy/action anime on our hands folks. That would make me jubilant (working on my vocab XD), I’m a huge fan of anime haling from the action and fantasy genres.

Though I must admit the sexism is a little disheartening. Felicita should be able to fight in this competition that is being held to find the new head of the family, and for her hand in marriage. She should have a chance to be the head of the family, and choose her own fate (have I scene way too many commercials for that movie Brave?). Well regardless, she should be allowed. Though both Liberta and Nova promise Felicita that if they win the Arcana Duello that neither of them will marry her, and she will have her freedom. The rivalry between these two was hilarious, and I can totally see that this is going to be the comedy relief. They even made me laugh out loud once or twice, and anime can’t typically elicit a genuine laugh (I leave that up to the Friends re-runs I watch most nights) so it is rather exiting to have an anime that can do action and comedy well.

I also really enjoy the whole idea of the Arcana Famiglia having connection with certain Arcana cards, which greatly resemble tarot cards. I have not scene anything like that before, and I’m intrigued to see how these powers play out and develop through out this show. The action scenes were also pretty eye catching, couple this with the bright and colorful animation, and my hopes remain high for this anime.

Arcana Famiglia is brought to us by J.C. Staff who are known for Revolutionary Girl Utena, Excel Saga, Toaru Kagaku no Railgun, Honey and Clover, Azumanga Daioh, and Toradora!

I’m actually pretty exited for next Sunday.

Thanks for reading!

Lykos

Comments

Leave a Reply

