TOP 10 GUYS OF ANIME!!

This is my special contribution to Xana getting 10,000 views! He asked me to do a top anime list, but I had to be honest, I feel I haven’t scene close to enough anime yet! I feel I have barely scratched the surface of the anime universe. So I think instead I will make my list for my Birthday in September, so that’s something to look forward too! So instead I have compiled a top 10 list of my favorite guy characters of anime. They each have their own reasons for being on this list, maybe they were great heroes, maybe they were complicated, maybe they were sadistic villains, they are on here because they made the anime enjoyable. I played with the order so much, and I think I finally have it right.

So feast your eyes!

Side note: I limited it to one character per franchise.

10. Death the Kid (Soul Eater)

I must say that it was a very difficult decision whether I should choose Stein or Kid from Soul Eater, but as you can all see Kid came out on top. He is funny and serious at the same time, his obsession with symmetry is hilarious, and makes for an original character. I also really enjoy the relationship he has with Patty and Liz, he very obviously cares for them, though they are complete and polar opposites. I HATE filler episodes, but the episode where all the students have to take a written exam, and Kid knows all the answers, but spends the whole time writing his name perfectly-HILARIOUS! He also questions the institution that he works for, and in a show like Soul Eater it was nice to see a little depth, and original thought from one of the characters.

9. Thor (Jyu-Oh-Sei: Platen of the Beast King)

He was so childish and real in the begging, I could relate. Then he matured into a fascinating creature with a strict code of conduct, but he was also very clearly prone to human mistakes. All together a complex and realistic character who I enjoyed watching.

8. Shizuo Heiwajima (Durarara!!) Original. Fun to watch. Badass. I only wish he was in it more. ‘Nuff said.

7. Kakashi Hatake (Naruto)

Perhaps putting a Naruto character in my top 10 men of Anime will completely ill legitimize my reviewer opinion, or perhaps I will be ripped apart for this choice, but the truth is that I started reading Naruto when I was in 5th grade, and have loved Kakkashi ever since. He is a complex character, who clearly cares very much for those around him, but is extremely hesitant to show his emotions. In addition, the fact that he has a blood contract with dogs just made it better because of my personal love for those animals that hale from the canine genius. Also, it must be said, he is hot a really good teacher.🙂

6. Iroh (Avatar: The Last Airbender)

I know that he is mere supporting cast, but such an important character! He is funny, complex, cunning, and caring. I always wished he were my uncle. Even though he is a pudgy old man, he manages to be a freaking badass, only a truly special character could pull that off!

5. Yuzuru Otonashi (Angel Beats!) Truthfully I loved the whole cast of Angel Beats! But Otonashi resonated with me the most. The way that he cared for other people was beyond touching (yes, fine, you caught me, I’m a sap!).

4. Kazuma Mikura (air gear)

I know that this may be an odd choice, but when I watched Air Gear I just really identified with him (even though sometimes he is a raging perv). Truthfully there was allot about that show that I identified with in general, but that’s a story for a different time. His personality is marked by loyalty, and he is the most hardworking member of Kogarasumaru, even when he is completely down and out his mentality is to just keep going until his body breaks, this is similar to my way of thinking. I’ll spare you a rant about my trials and tribulations as a high school varsity athlete. So from the get go I identified with Kazuma, and he will always be a character close to my heart.

3. Ladd Russo (Boccono!)

What a balls out crazy character. Maybe this makes me a really fucked up person, but allot of my favorite parts of Boccono! were the parts that featured the usually blood spattered Ladd (I also loved Firo, and Isaac and Miria, but those two don’t fit in this category, that would be more like a best couple type thing). Ladd certainly kept things interesting through out this rollercoaster of a series he always kept me guessing. The only certain thing about Ladd was that bodies will fall in his wake. What a guy!

2. Ashitaka (Princess Mononoke)

Princess Mononoke is by far my favorite anime movie, I first sol it in 1997 when I was but a wee child, and I would not care to admit how many times I’ve watched it since then. If this is any hint, I can recite most scenes verbatim. Due to my love of this movie, I’m damn near obligated to place Ashitaka so high on my list. Now please don’t misconstrue what I’m saying, Ashitaka more then deserves his place at number 2, it’s just that he does not necessarily make the movie, the movie itself is pure excellence, and he is merely a perfect cog in the machine. That being said, he is a brave, selfless, strong, complicated character that I could not help but emulate.

1. Roy Mustang (Fullmetal Alchemist/Brotherhood)

Really how do I put the Flame Alchemist into words? He is fighting to make a better world, and protect those he loves, though he is prone to very human feelings. He is one of the characters that made FMA/Brotherhood as amazing as it was. He also gets major points in the badass category.

Thanks for reading!

Sincerely,

Lykos

Comments
  1. chril001 says:

    Awesome post . Will there be a reciprocating female top 10 post by Xana?

  2. GoodbyeNavi says:

    Shizuo! Huzzah!

  3. Nikko Felix says:

    nice list though i didn’t see the anime character that i expected but to share it,it’s nice if you include lelouch and allen walker from the anime code geass and d.gray-man.

    what do you think????

    • Lykos says:

      To tell you the truth I have never scene Code Geass, so I can’t attest to Lelouch as a character, and I have scene a decent portion of d. Gray-man, and as much as I did enjoy Allen Walker, I didn’t think he was anything special. Though this is just my person list, all the characters are on there because they are my person favorites. Though what are your top 10 anime guys?! I’de love to know🙂

Leave a Reply

