Zetman Episode 1 Review

Posted: April 3, 2012 by Lykos in Zetman
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Ok, I have to say I’m really exited for this anime so lets dive right in!

Might as well start with the opening…or lack there of. I watched it on Hulu, and there was no opening. I don’t have any qualms with this. So far the voice acting was well done, though it’s a bit hard to tell from just one episode.

This episodes starts with a voice over explaining what monsters known as “players” are. These “players” were an attempt to form perfect humans, but instead these monsters became nothing more then a hobby for rich folks who would bet on fights. “Players” had no will of their only, they only had the will to kill, until they gained some sort of awareness, and when they did, they retaliated against the rich people who used them as entertainment, and killed them all.

Then we meet a young boy who lived in poverty with his “Gramps” the boy is named Jin. Jin, along with his two wealthy friends, Kouga and Konoha Amagi, patrol the streets and do jobs for people in the name of Justice (well Jin actually asks for money from the people he saves, but that’s beside the point). Even though he is just a child Jin has no problem tacking out three full sized men.

Jin returns home that night to find that Gramps has been attacked and is on the brink of death. Gramps had not taught Jin what death is, so he spends some time wondering around the streets, with Gramps in a shopping cart, trying to get help, even though Gramps is very dead at this point.

He ends up staying with the very same woman, Akemi Kawakami who he saved earlier that day. So I’m really not a fan of fan-service, and there was a scene where Jin and Akemi were taking a bath together, and it started off very dicey, I was pretty sure they were going to take it to a place where I really, really didn’t want it to go. But somehow the writers managed to turn that into a pretty nice scene, which will teach me to judge a scene by its implications.

When Akemi and Jin are walking home from shopping the next day they are attacked by a monster that uses his tongue as a bladed whip. He slices Akemi, and reveals that he is the one who killed Jin’s Gramps. Akemi begs Jin to run, but he doesn’t want the only other person he cares about to die, so he stands and fights, though he doesn’t stand a chance. In a last ditch effort Akemi knocks the long tongued monster off his feet so he doesn’t kill Jin, the monster then lashes out and savagely cuts her face. Really, all together it was a gore fest, and I loved it. Jin then pulls some serous Dragon Ball Z super saiyan, and stops the monster in its tracks by transforming into some sort of monster himself. Jin then proceeds to pass out.

Jin wakes up in the hospital and is given a pendent that was his Gramps, and is then shown to a room where Akemi is sitting, and bandaged up, but ok.

It is also clear that Gramps was a scientist, and Jin is nothing more then an experiment having to do with “players.”

On the technical side the animation was very nice, nothing mind blowing, but very solid and consistent. The fighting scenes were pretty cool, pretty standard, nothing that made me take a step back and say “wow”, but still fine.

I think I’m going to really like this show, I look forward to how they answer the pretty hefty questions they set forth about justice, and violence.

Thanks for reading!

Sincerely,

Lykos

Comments
  1. tuss4dzigns says:

    I’ve been reading the manga, since like 2005, I can say I am really looking forward to watching this ep!!

    • Lykos says:

      I can’t say I have read the manga, but the episode was really pretty good, I hope that it doesn’t let you down! Let me know what you think of it

      • tuss4dzigns says:

        It seems like they changed the story slightly to make Jin and Kouga childhood friends. It’s still a dope episode, though!

      • Lykos says:

        Yeah it was pretty sweet, hope it continues to live up to your expectations!

  2. Love the anime. Didn’t think it will be this good. It lived to my expectation. Glad that it did because I need some action this season.

    • Lykos says:

      To tell you the truth I didn’t really have any expectations going in, but the first episode was really good, and I’m looking forward to episode 2!

Leave a Reply

