Spring 2012 Anime Preview

Posted: February 19, 2012 by Xana in Previews

Its approximately halfway through the 2012 winter season of anime, so what better of a time then now for me to preview some of the brand new anime that will air in the spring.  This season seems like it’s going to be a season of sequels and fan-service so lets dive in.

Medaka Box

Kurokami Medaka is the new Student Council President. She decides to establish a box in the school (called the Medaka Box) where students can submit problems that they have. With the help of her childhood friend Hitoyoshi Zenkichi, she promises to solve the problems submitted in the box, whatever they might be. This is Gainax’s newest attempt at an anime, which will probably mean fan-service, more fan-service and their famous boob bounce.  This type of show has sure been done a millions times so I will probably skip this one.

Zetman

Zetman is the story of two rival heroes, Jin and Kouga, who can transform into superhuman.  They go around destroying monster known as Players.  TMS entertainment is animating this one.  It’s weird because the manga for this series has been out for 10 years so why animate it now, maybe its due the fact that the author of the series designed the characters for the successful 2011 anime Tiger & Bunny.  I may give this one a couple of episodes.  If the series turns out to be a particularly long anime like TMS normally makes I probably won’t give it a shot.

Accel World

Accel World is Sunrise Studios newest anime.  In 2046, Haruyuki, a middle school student comes into contact with a girl named Kuro Yuki Hime.  She is the most beautiful girl in school and his world changes when he meets her and he discovers a virtual world called Accel.  Sunrise has really been lacking of lately; I hope that Accel World can prove that Sunrise is still the same great animation studio that put out both Code Geass and Cowboy Bebop.  I plan on both watching and blogging this series.

Tasogare Otome x Anbesia, also known as Dusk Maiden of Amnesia

Niya Teiichi, a freshman in high school is able to see the ghost of a woman who was left to die in a building at Seikyou Academy.  With help of Niya, this women tries to find what caused her death.  Silver Link, a studio I am not familiar with is behind this series.  I plan on watching and blogging this one; the plot intrigues me and I also want to see an anime from the fairly new Silver Link Studios.

Shining Hearts

Shining Hearts is a brand new anime based of a PSP RPG games by the same name.  The island of Wyndaria is full of pirates searching for a special stone with magical powers.  Rick (that is sure not a Japanese name) a swordsman and his friends join forces in order to bring peace to their island of Wyndaria.  On their mission they try to protect Kaguya a girl who lost her memories and is wearing the spirit stone.  Production I.G. is behind this one, meaning great animation.  I am guessing that being a pirate anime, it can in no way be worse than Moretsu Pirtates so I might as well give this one a shot.

Sankarea

Furuya is obsessed with zombies so when his cat dies, he decided to try to bring it back to life with an old occult book.  He encounters a depressed girl named Rea who has run away from her house.  In an attempt to commit suicide she drinks Furuya’s resurrection potion he had created which fails to kill her.  Later she falls off a cliff and dies but due to the resurrection potion she comes back to life.  Studio Dean is behind this one, which worries me a little; their last Zombie show was Kore Wa Zombie Desu ka which was mediocre.  Besides that I do like the idea behind the show and will watch it, maybe even blog it too.

Hyou-ka

Oreki Hotaro is a shy high school boy who joins the classical literature club.  Oreki and his fellow club members investigate a case that occurred 33 years ago.  Hints of a mystery are buried in an old collection of books within the club.  I’m sorry I could only find a vague summary of what this show will be about but Kyoto animation is behind it which means great animation.  I plan on watching this one only due to the fact that Kyoto Animation has The Meloncholy of Haruhi Suzumiya under its belt, which I loved.

Rock Lee’s Springtime of Youth

Are you kidding me, they gave one of the most annoying characters of Naruto a spinoff series…  I know a lot of people hate Naruto but it is the series that got me into anime so I will be blogging and watching this one even though I haven’t watched Naruto Shippuden in almost a year.  The show is supposed to be more of comedy series so we will see how this goes.

Spring 2012 is also full of sequels to anime that I didn’t like or haven’t watched.  Fate/Zero 2 is coming out, I didn’t see the first half or fate/stay night so I can’t say I will be watching this one anytime soon.  J.C. staff seemed to think it was a good idea to give Kimi to Boku a second series, I sure won’t be watching this one.  Kore wa Zombie Desu ka, is getting a second season.  What I saw of the first series was okay, maybe I will get around to finishing it up so I can watch the second season.  I have only seen a couple episodes of Eureka Seven which include the last episode.  I have no idea why or how they are making Eureka Seven Ao based on the last episode.  I don’t have the time or patience to watch all 50 episodes and a movie of the first series so I can’t say I will be watching this one ether.  The last sequel coming out in spring is Phi Brain: Kami no Puzzle 2.  I never watched the first series because nothing of the plot sparked my interest.

Are their any anime you want me to review, I can make this happen!

Thank you for for spending the time and reading this🙂 have a nice day.

Leave a Reply

